Now Reading
Chicago Culinary Excellence At 2017 Jean Banchet Awards

Chicago Culinary Excellence At 2017 Jean Banchet Awards

jean banchet_Awards 2017

2017 Galdones Photography LLC
Chicago has staked its place as a well known foodie town with celebrated chefs, restaurants and restauranteurs. On January 15, over 400 culinary professionals and enthusiasts gathered at Venue Six10 for the 2017 Jean Banchet Awards, presented by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. With Chicago culinary luminaries such as Curtis Duffy, Rick Bayless, Donnie Madia in attendance, the Jean Banchet Awards for Culinary Excellence is the only Chicago-based awards ceremony that recognizes culinary originality and talent throughout the region.


Over 400 people attended The Jean Banchet Awards


Guests were greeted with a champagne reception followed by the award ceremony hosted by Michael Muser, partner and general manager at 3 Michelin star Grace (652 W Randolph St.).  

2017 Galdones Photography LLC

Brian Chan, Emmy Carragher and Mary Belobich
Brian Chan, Emmy Carragher, Mary Belobich

The winners of this year’s Jean Banchet Awards, dominated by West loop restaurants includes: Blackbird (619 W Randolph St.) for Restaurant of the Year; Andrew Brochu of Roister (951 W Fulton Market) for Chef of the Year; Oriole (661 W Walnut St.) for Best New Restaurant; Dixie (1952 N Damen Ave.) for Best Restaurant Design and Nomad (4019 N Damen Ave.) for Best Alternative Dining.

Ji Suk Yi and Jared Batson of Nomad
Ji Suk Yi, Jared Batson (Nomad)


Rick Bayless was also honored for a Culinary Achievement Award at the Post Awards Party presented by ITW Food Equipment Group.

2017 Galdones Photography LLC
Rick Bayless


A full list of award winners (pictured above) can be found here. The Jean Banchet Awards precede the Grand Chef’s Gala that will take place on February 3rd which benefits the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation while honoring all nominated restaurants.

See Also

Malika Ameen and Steve Dolinsky
Malika Ameen, Steve Dolinsky
Kim Mills and Stephanie Michaud
Kim Mills, Stephanie Michaud


Evie Murphy and Michael Muser
Evie Murphy, Michael Muser


Alpana Singh, Jared Batson and Ji Suk Yi
Alpana Singh, Jared Batson and Ji Suk Yi
2017 Galdones Photography LLC
Liz Grossman, Curtis Duffy, Lisa Shames


Want to keep up with our latest coverage plus exclusive event invites? Click here to get this and more scene worthy items delivered to your inbox.

photo credits: Caitlin Lee; Galdones Photography

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top