Now Reading
Third Annual Pointe of Departure Art Exhibition Celebration

Third Annual Pointe of Departure Art Exhibition Celebration


POD2835_Chairmen_DavidKimball_AlanSwankePoint of Departure 2013 Co-Chair David Kimball, Alan Swanke
POD_Amanda Byrne_Judi Green_Christopher Clinton ConwayAmanda Byrne, Judi Green, Christopher Clinton Conway

The Third Annual Pointe of Departure Art Exhibition held February 7, on the third floor space of Block 37 overlooking State St. and Joffrey Tower, raised $25,000 to support Joffrey Ballet programs and performances. The event, co-chaired by Alan Swanke and David Kimball, was inspired by the movement of dance and selected artists were commissioned to create original pieces of art that will be available for sale that evening to benefit The Joffrey Ballet. In attendance were Joffrey women and auxiliary board members, honorary host committee and supporters including: Coco Meers, Rosalyn Emerson, James Goeke, Helen Melchoir,Ken Norgan, Terrence Chappell, Christopher Clinton Conway, Jill Dodds, Todd Kempton, Liz Marie Oliveras, Ashley Wheater, Caitlin Meaghan, James Sims III, Tarrah Cooper and many more

Guests were treated to cocktails provided by Skinnygirl, Peroni and St. Germain; canapés from Jewell Events Catering and mini lobster rolls at an action table by RL’s Chef Ryan Pitts, music by DJ Chicago, sponsored by PrettyQuick and MORE cupcakes provided the take-home gift of individually wrapped cupcakes.

POD2983_ErinLinklater_ToddKempton_JillDoddsErin Linklater, Todd Kempton, Jill Dodds

Participating artists were encouraged to explore creative interpretations of “American Legends” ranging from classic examples of American art and dance to famous Americans. During the night 26 pieces sold out of a total of 63 available. One of the paintings sold at the auction was a mixed-media portrait of Mr. Joffrey created by the famous Jason Mecier. Herbert Migdoll, The Joffrey Ballet’s Director of Special Projects, selected three finalists for “Best in Show” and they were announced to the crowd of young professionals, art-lovers and Joffrey donors. The winners were: Mila Samokhina “Rehearsal”, John Rush “Cloven Kingdom”, and Temur Suluashvili “Untitled.”

*all images: James Atkins Photography

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top