CFDA Award Winners, Speeches & Beyonce

The CFDA Fashion Awards in collaboration with Swarovski, celebrating all things American fashion, took place Monday June 6 at Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City.  The night, hosted by Joel McHale, had the nominated fashion designers for women, mens and accessories, honorees, models, editors and executives all in attendance. We’ve gathered speeches from some of the winners for you to watch and get inspired below. A complete list of winners of the 2016 CFDA Fashion Awards is listed below as well.

In introducing Beyonce, CFDA President Diane Von Furstenberg said about the 2016 Fashion Icon honoree Beyonce “What really matters is talent; talent is always the solution and talent is what we celebrate tonight.” She is an artist, fashion icon, global entrepreneur, mother, wife, philanthropist and a cultural force. A disruptive genius, fearless in her heart, she is a risk taker, rule maker and rule breaker. Her voice has become a movement…She is everything all women want to be and after listening to her, no woman should ever feel insecure again. Talent, heart, strength, courage, that true style and that is everything Beyoncé is about.”


Anna Wintour introduces & presents Gucci Creative Director Alessandro Michele 2016 CFDA International Award

Alexander Skarsgård presents Thom Browne with the 2016 CFDA Menswear Designer of the Year Award

Tilda Swinton Accepts the Board of Director’s Tribute to David Bowie

Designer Calvin Klein presented Donna Karan with the 2016 CFDA Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert

Fashion Icon Award ― Beyoncé

Womenswear Designer of the Year ― Marc Jacobs

Swarovski Award for Womenswear ― Brandon Maxwell

Swarovski Award for Menswear ― Orley: Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, Samantha Orley

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design ― Paul Andrew

Menswear Designer of the Year ― Thom Browne

Accessories Designer of the Year ― Mansur Gavriel: Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award ― Norma Kamali

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert ― Donna Karan

International Award ― Gucci: Alessandro Michele

The Board of Directors’ Special Tribute Award ― David Bowie

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard ― Imran Amed, editor in chief of The Business of Fashion


Chicago's premium luxury lifestyle website covering fashion, beauty, events, culture, news & more

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

© 2016 WinEsther, Inc. All rights reserved