Fleurotica 2013 Chicago garfield park conservatory
Lush green leaves, thick long twigs, ethereal flower goddess, dramatic winding of lush green moss, this was not your ordinary fashion show. Last night amongst some of Chicago’s well heeled, and may I add some of the best dressed group of ladies and gents we’ve seen in a minute, FLEUROTICA 2013 showcased a wide array of floral fashion concepts. The second floor of the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago was transformed into a setting that looked more like a  milk studios runway.

After guests gathered for reception and cocktails, we were led downstairs to the runway area. FLEUROTICA 2013 co-chairs Whitney Lasky, Deirdre Kolydyke and Shauna Montgomery welcomed guests and remarks which included a thank you to sponsors and supporters such as Neiman Marcus, Boeing, Allstate, Ariel Investments, that made the fundraiser possible.

Deirdre Koldyke, shauna montgomery, meredith montgomery, guest, mary claire moll Fleurotica 2013 garfield park conservatory
The fashion show began with Meredith Montgomery as the etheral goddess of light and the floral creations sauntered down the runway on the Factor models while music by DJ Megan Taylor kept the energy going. Though the judges for the show Nena Ivon, Bridget Halanski and Sam Kor George picked the creation of Scarlet Petal designed by Sarah Anderson as the winning piece, we thought the dramatic H. Bloom design stole the show. Since this was a fundraiser to benefit the Garfield Park Conservatory, guests were encouraged to buy neiman marcus boxes that would give one lucky winner a chance to win a very valuable precious jewelry by designer Coomi who flew in from New York for the event. Mary Claire Moll was the lucky winner.
Guest in attendance for Fleurotica 2013 included: Helen Melchoir, Shellie Thompson, Jill Dodds, Julie Latsky, Tina Koegel(Neiman Marcus), Mary Lasky, Elizabeth Ryan, Eunita Rushing (President Garfield Park Conservatory), Amy Rule(Mrs. Rahm Emanuel), Mary McMahan, John Rogers, Mara Maddocks, Marion Brooks,  Rebecca Besser, Candace Jordan, Margaret O’Connor, Tarrah Cooper, Toni Canada, Richard Wester, Melissa Klages, Morris Gearring, Ken and Mary Claire Moll, Shelly MacArthur Farley, Michi Marshall, Barbara Laken and many more.


SociaLifeChicago is your daily digital destination

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

© 2016 WinEsther, Inc. All rights reserved